Transferring data from Garmin

Post your questions about bike maintenance, bike problems, kit issues, goggle issues – anything to do with the kit you have which isn’t quite going to plan and you’re looking for an answer why.

Transferring data from Garmin

Postby CCS » 08 Feb 2014 14:32

OK, so probably being a complete numpty here, but can anyone help?
Just got a new Garmin 310XT - replacement under warranty, but it just doesn't seem to want to transfer data to my PC. Any suggestions as to how I presuade it?
On Garmin connect, it just sees all the data from the old Garmin (which is presumably already sitting on my laptop). Do I have to register my new watch with the Ant sitck or something like that?
Answers on a postcard as usual...
Talking to myself and feeling old
User avatar
CCS
 
Posts: 3933
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:14
Location: Surrey

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby Jack Hughes » 08 Feb 2014 14:38

Yes. You need to pair the devices. Garmin connect is just getting data from the agent (all local to pc). The agent needs to pair the ant+ deilvice to your watch, then transfer.
Omnia Vanitas

Immortal (for a limited tme).
User avatar
Jack Hughes
 
Posts: 11085
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:19
Location: God's own county

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby Jack Hughes » 08 Feb 2014 14:39

Should be called "find device" or "pair device" or "discover device"
Omnia Vanitas

Immortal (for a limited tme).
User avatar
Jack Hughes
 
Posts: 11085
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:19
Location: God's own county

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby CCS » 08 Feb 2014 15:37

Thanks!
Device duly paired...
(and top customer service from Garmin - sent it back on Tues; got a brand new one yesterday)
Talking to myself and feeling old
User avatar
CCS
 
Posts: 3933
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:14
Location: Surrey

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby combatdwarf » 14 Mar 2014 11:08

and don't be surprised when you have to do this again in the future (pairing) as my 310 keeps forgetting my computer...
Husband • Father • Ironman • My triathlon journey from the rugby front row to age group ironman • http://iaindoestriathlon.blogspot.com/
Injured in 2014 so racing for FRANK water at the Bridge to Bridge • http://www.justgiving.com/iaindoesb2b
User avatar
combatdwarf
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: 10 Jan 2010 18:19
Location: Global (with work) Cambridge (at home)

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby S11 » 14 Mar 2014 14:13

Garmin express....it will sync to Garmin Connect, update the device etc all at once.

If you can get it to work, its pretty decent..
User avatar
S11
 
Posts: 2986
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 23:08
Blog: View Blog (41)

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby AndyC » 14 Mar 2014 16:40

Since the garmin agent update, l have been unable to sync and upload data.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do I have to?

2015

Stirling Duathlon
London Marathon
StaffordShire 70.3
Outlaw

AndyC
Spends enough time on here to alert the BAT/HAT/WAT/GAT
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 08 Oct 2010 11:35
Location: East Kilbride
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Transferring data from Garmin

Postby Bopomofo » 18 Mar 2014 11:57

Garmin express doesn't work for me. I uninstalled it.
I had fun once. It was awful.
User avatar
Bopomofo
 
Posts: 5125
Joined: 11 Jan 2010 16:21
Location: Southampton
Blog: View Blog (3)


Return to Technical FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron