Garmin 810

Post your questions about bike maintenance, bike problems, kit issues, goggle issues – anything to do with the kit you have which isn’t quite going to plan and you’re looking for an answer why.

Re: Garmin 810

Postby kfjatek » 04 May 2015 20:16

Jack Hughes wrote:You can put a route into the 510. It won't do turn by turn. But will tell you when you are off course.


So does the 910xt. Pretty rubbish function though, got Faith, Joddybear and me lose the route more than a couple of times last year in Exmoor. Haven't used it since.

:ugeek:
2015:
26/04 Southampton 10k
30/05 Sieraków Triathlon
21/06 Dambuster Triathlon
29/08 Club Relays
27/09 Hever Triathlon
User avatar
kfjatek
SGM
 
Posts: 3219
Joined: 26 Sep 2012 12:16
Location: London/Surrey

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Bopomofo » 05 May 2015 10:14

kfjatek wrote:
Jack Hughes wrote:You can put a route into the 510. It won't do turn by turn. But will tell you when you are off course.


So does the 910xt. Pretty rubbish function though, got Faith, Joddybear and me lose the route more than a couple of times last year in Exmoor. Haven't used it since.

:ugeek:



Agree on the 910xt... it'll get you home, but you WILL take wrong turns. I used the route function to guide me around the Legs of Steel course - not during the actual event, just followed the route as a birthday treat a few years back.

Looking on my plot, you can see that many of the junctions have a little spike on them where we went the wrong way initially. Also, you get the warning telling you that you have strayed off your route so often when you are on the correct road that when it starts whinging at you following a junction you have to give it a few minutes before you believe it.

Two of us riding together, both using 910, both getting different warnings and messages. Like I said, it'll get you home but don't buy one as a navigation device.
I had fun once. It was awful.
User avatar
Bopomofo
 
Posts: 5104
Joined: 11 Jan 2010 16:21
Location: Southampton
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Garmin 810

Postby CCS » 05 May 2015 14:06

810 is pretty good (not that I actually have one... but gave BAT one for Xmas a couple of years ago). Don't know too much about what it displays - other then that I managed to create some routes (via Strava) when we went to France last year; uploaded them, and it was brilliant at navigating us around completely unknown countryside.
Guess it really depends what you want it to do.
Personally, I just use the 910XT with quick release - and tend to memmorise routes upfront / look at google maps on the phone when I get lost.
Talking to myself and feeling old
User avatar
CCS
 
Posts: 3927
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:14
Location: Surrey

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Bendy Ben » 22 Jun 2015 11:56

Well just ordered the 1000 performance bundle.

Hoping it lives up to the rave reviews I've read ( and some worrying tales of a 2.5 HR battery life

Gonna have to work out how to upload to strava too.

Excited
User avatar
Bendy Ben
 
Posts: 9791
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 16:23
Location: Surrey
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Garmin 810

Postby kfjatek » 22 Jun 2015 12:27

Bendy Ben wrote:Gonna have to work out how to upload to strava too.


Strava and Garmin Connect speak to each other, so you just need to sync the accounts (in profile on Strava, I believe).

:ugeek:
2015:
26/04 Southampton 10k
30/05 Sieraków Triathlon
21/06 Dambuster Triathlon
29/08 Club Relays
27/09 Hever Triathlon
User avatar
kfjatek
SGM
 
Posts: 3219
Joined: 26 Sep 2012 12:16
Location: London/Surrey

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Bendy Ben » 22 Jun 2015 12:51

You say that like I have any idea how to do that :lol:
User avatar
Bendy Ben
 
Posts: 9791
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 16:23
Location: Surrey
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Jack Hughes » 22 Jun 2015 13:24

kfjatek wrote:
Bendy Ben wrote:Gonna have to work out how to upload to strava too.


Strava and Garmin Connect speak to each other, so you just need to sync the accounts (in profile on Strava, I believe).

:ugeek:



Sigh. I need to do this now.

Now longer can I avoid Garmin Connect.
Omnia Vanitas

Officially Bad For Age
User avatar
Jack Hughes
 
Posts: 11003
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:19
Location: God's own county

Re: Garmin 810

Postby ris » 22 Jun 2015 14:16

I had switch to connect / express when chrome (and pretty much everything else) stopped talking to communicator. was not my happiest day, although they seem to work pretty well and stuff turns up in endo / strava without too much of a ballache.
most disturbing in lycra, 2010, 2012, 2013
club champ 2015
User avatar
ris
 
Posts: 4444
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 15:15
Location: wilts
Blog: View Blog (26)

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Jack Hughes » 22 Jun 2015 14:18

ris wrote:I had switch to connect / express when chrome (and pretty much everything else) stopped talking to communicator. was not my happiest day, although they seem to work pretty well and stuff turns up in endo / strava without too much of a ballache.


Yeah. Plugins still work in Safari, but Strava are finally dropping support for it.

I did create an account at Garmin about 7 years ago... well, it automatically provisioned one, but created a user name that was too long to log in with. Which then monopolised my email address. So lost interest. With a bit of luck it is gone now.
Omnia Vanitas

Officially Bad For Age
User avatar
Jack Hughes
 
Posts: 11003
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 17:19
Location: God's own county

Re: Garmin 810

Postby Bendy Ben » 23 Jun 2015 20:23

Test ride tomorrow

Image
Image
Image
Image

I'll have to work out all the functions and address the strava / Garmin schizzle soon


Training ? Pah! Overrated
User avatar
Bendy Ben
 
Posts: 9791
Joined: 05 Jan 2010 16:23
Location: Surrey
Blog: View Blog (3)

PreviousNext

Return to Technical FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron